Good Girl Guide

Today I gave another guided tour, the last one for the year. And I am really glad it’s over. Don’t get me wrong, I do like giving these tours, but I’m not a ‘natural’ at public speaking and find them nerve racking.

I usually give the tours an overview of the history of the gardens at the tower, our microclimate and general info about the site  and then enthuse at them about various impressive trees we have, plants in general and the recent renovation of the greenhouse. As the garden isn’t particularly big this usually takes only about half an hour. It is an opportunity for me to see what people think of the gardens, and in some cases to meet people who are far more knowledgeable than me (always hard to give a tour to them, but enjoyable none the less).

In the future I hope to include more information about garden history and if I do a bit of detective work I might be able to work out some more about the history of the garden, which is a bit sketchy at the moment. More commentary on the planting might also be worth including as at the moment I concentrate on the impressive focal points; i.e the trees. I get quite excited about trees and their various adaptions, which perhaps leads me away from discussing the garden as a whole.

So having said I’m pleased that’s over and done with for a while, I’m getting excited about possible topics for future tours! Oh well, that’s got to be a good thing.

Leave a Reply

