Snow, Christmas lights and veggies.

It’s a bit of a frustrating time at work at the moment. I lost about a week to the garden being underneath the first batch of snow, so I was busy shovelling snow and spreading grit when really I wanted to be giving the borders their winter tidy and neatening the lawn edges, among other things. A significant proportion of the last week was spent putting up Christmas lights and trees for our lovely Christmas event. And now it’s snowed again and obviously the last week of December will be holiday time. It will be a very welcome holiday, I have to say as my batteries are running a bit low right now! However holiday time is not working time and so if, in the next four days, I don’t get all the borders tidied, they’ll be scruffy until the New Year which isn’t how I like to run things.

Whinge whinge whinge!

Anyone would think I didn’t love snow and enjoy our Christmas events. I really do! But while I’m dealing with those things I’m not doing other more gardeny things.

At home I’m considering what to plant in our new kitchen garden next year. We’ve put up all the beds and only have one more bark chip path to make and we’ll be finished. I’m really looking forward to getting in some garlic and parsnip seeds early on in the year and am very tempted to try some of Ken Muir’s erect cordons of plums and cherries. They would give the plot some vertical interest and, of course, we love plums and cherries. I’ve always been somewhat sceptical of vertical cordons because there’s a pretty good reason fruit producers grow their cordons at an angle and that’s because it works better. Having said that I’m starting to see the value of them in a restricted space where aesthetic is almost as important as fruit yield. Some say Prunus don’t work as cordons so we shall see. It’ll be fun finding out!

Other than miniature trees I’m considering a hedge of autumn fruiting rasperries along the back edge, culinary herbs in the front closest to the house and more unusual herbs along one side between the little trees. Annual herbs will have to rough it in the veg beds with the veg. Right, I’m off to peruse seed catalogues and look in recipe books (Nigel Slater’s ‘Tender’ is my favourite…yum yum) and generally make plans wildly out of scale with the time/energy I can usually devote to the garden. But isn’t that what Winter’s for? Sanity will come with Spring.

One response to “Snow, Christmas lights and veggies.

  1. I can’t wait to see your kitchen garden in full swing 🙂

Leave a Reply

