The Good, The Bad and the Beautiful – September 2011

The end of September already? When did that happen?

The Good

This autumn I’m finally getting around to creating some borders I’ve been planning for ages. Hurrah! I’ve marked them out and sprayed the grass so in a couple of weeks we’ll really be moving on these. And not a moment too soon as some of the plants have been sitting around in their pots for faaaar too long.

There’ll be a new mixed border along this wall, keeping the climbing roses, and one along the wall at the bottom, which I’ll be calling Soggy Bottom as it retains water in the winter.

The Bad

Yews. Need I say more.

The Beautiful

The Japanese Acer in the shady nook is doing it’s thang:

And is now featuring in my header image. Hurrah for orange leaves and blue skies! Hurrah!

11 responses to “The Good, The Bad and the Beautiful – September 2011

  1. That looks like a wonderful new canvas… it makes my gardener heart want to skip for joy along with you.

    And I deeply envy your having a wall complete with roses as a backdrop. I am looking forward to seeing your ideas come to life!

  2. Marking a new border out with sticks and rope is one of the most exciting things to do in a garden! Your head full of musings about ‘what will it be’…
    Keep us posted with your new border, I’m very curious!

  3. My sticks, rope and length of hosepipe (best for curves, I find) are coming out of the shed right now – so exciting, planning a new bed. Like you, I’ve got a few things that really need to go in… thanks for reminding me how exciting it is!

    (and a lovely acer too…)

  4. Glad to see that Soggy Bottom is taking shape!

  5. Soggy Bottom, the name sounds like an English garden. A lot of enjoyable work ahead.

  6. I really like the autumn leaves against the sky…awesome! And I am really anxious to see your new bed once it is finished…a lot of work! We just finished a new bed around the patio on the hill. I am so glad we are done.

Leave a Reply

