Preparing Spring bulbs

Every autumn I pot up some bulbs to use in my containers in Spring so today I settled in to listen to Radio 4 and get the bulbs snuggled into their pots.

I put 5 Iris ‘Joyce’ bulbs in twenty 3″ square pots:

Planting Iris Bulbs

And 9 Narcissus ‘Tete a Tete’ in  eighteen 2L pots:

Planting daffodil bulbs

I also made up about twenty long tom 4″ pots with 4 daffs in each. I’ve put them all outdoors for now and round about Christmas time I’ll bring half of them in to the greenhouse (which is unheated but just a little warmer than outdoors) which brings them forward a little. Then when that first batch start to go over I replace them with  the second batch, extending the season by a little.

This gives me plenty of spring colour to put into my containers accompanying the pansies I grow from seed. Once the bulbs have done their thing they’ll get planted out in the garden to pop up in later years.

Spring bulbs flowering

10 responses to “Preparing Spring bulbs

  1. I like this idea of using the plastic containers for color early in the season. I have been thinking about how to do this with our harsh winters. I now have a couple of good ideas..thx

  2. You might be interested in Alberto’s method of marking areas where bulbs are planted : http://altroverde.wordpress.com/2011/10/06/burying-hopes/

  3. Sounds like you have it all under control – just another job to tick off the list.

  4. Your idea of anticipating bulbs in pots just bringing them in at the right time and for the right time is brilliant! It really seems you have everything under control! 🙂

    How’s the new border going? Planned? Planted?

  5. A timelt reminder to get on with my own bulb plantings!

  6. I presume you could bring on tulips in the same way that you bring on the daffs. Sounds like it’sworth a try.

Leave a Reply

