Hard work and pretty pictures

This last week or so I have mostly been digging the new borders out and/or raking the autumn leaves. This is where Soggy Bottom had got to by Tuesday:

Digging new borderAll progress since has been up the furthest end where I’ve been working around some existing cornus and a Viburnum I’m keeping. Please note mega massive blue wheelbarrow of doom. Given I’m petite I look particularly ridiculous wheeling it about but it’s ever so useful! The suppliers of my plants have informed me (when I rang them to chase, they couldn’t ring me oh no…. minor grrrs) that the order will have to come by courier which will cost extra. So I won’t have plants for another week or two which is extremely irritating.

None of this is particularly exciting so here’s some piccys:

Salvia sclarea Clary SageFurry little Salvia sclarea (Clary Sage) plantlets in pots. Some will be planted in a new bed (not Soggy Bottom, the drier one) and the rest will either slot into existing borders or may form part of a Tudor border I’m nagging for. Fingers crossed!

Pond in November

The pond in November. Funny how the ash at the end is completely naked while the oak just behind it still has a few tons of leaves to drop.

And to finish things off, we can’t have an autumn picture post without an Acer:

Red acer leaf

7 responses to “Hard work and pretty pictures

  1. Looks like you have put in a lot of work…gorgeous view of the lake!

  2. Great job! I am still tired and sore from digging out just another foot on the front of my beds. It was all at the top of the incline around our yard. Ugh.

    Those little clary sage will be beautifying your boarders before you know it. Thanks for the update!

  3. I think we should have had a photo of you wheeling that big wheelbarrow ….full of course!

  4. I’m very excited about that border! What are you going to plant?
    Did you order perennials to plant now? Despite what other people says I prefer planting perennials and grasses from late spring on, I reckon they recover better and start earlier, I don’t know why though…

    • Yeah I’d agree Spring is better but this bed is very damp and in Spring will be unworkable. And since I’m putting in an order for plants I’m doing the other bed at the same time. Soggy Bottom will be having Cornus shrubs with some perennials and grasses – Rheums, Ranunculusand other things that will stand having wet feet every winter.

  5. Pingback: Bye bye 2011 | The Sproutling Writes

Leave a Reply

