Yuletide greetings!

When I was a child we used to fill the house with greenery at Christmas. Every picture had a sprig of something green above it, and we had a real tree so of course the house smelt beautifully of pine.

Christmas greenery arrangement

These days MrK and I have a fake tree. All my attempts at buying miniature ones in pots and keeping them alive failed miserably. But I still bring in plenty of greenery, and making sure there are some pine branches amongst it all means the house still has the essential Christmassy smell from my childhood.

Close up of Christmas greenery

As well as pine, holly and ivy I like to include red cornus stems, rose hips and the nutmeg and orange scented leaves of the myrtle bushes which are everywhere at the towers.

Christmas greenery

Do you have any favourite plants for cutting for decorating the house at this time of year? I’m always open to new ideas for next year!

So I wish those of you who celebrate Christmas a ‘Happy Christmas!’ and hope that any of you who don’t are having a lovely time too.

Cheers!

Mulled wine in front of Christmas Tree

 

 

8 responses to “Yuletide greetings!

  1. Merry Christmas Libby…lovely greenery!!

  2. Wishing you a very happy and peaceful Christmas.

  3. Holly, and fortunately, there’s much of it about where I work – so technically it’s a little like bringing work home with you, but more pleasing.

    Merry Christmas, Libby.

    Steve, Liverpool

  4. Yuletide greetings… No seasonal decorations here I’m afraid…

  5. My gosh, I have too many to name. Your arrangements are lovely. Working at a tree farm at Christmas gives me a huge selection to pick from, but this year I did not do any fresh arrangements at my house. I missed it too, but everyday at the farm is kinda like Christmas anyway. Hope you had a great Christmas.

  6. Thanks everyone. I had a lovely family Christmas. Bring on the New Year booze up!

  7. I still do the greenery above picture thing but the central heating dries it out. Like to cut lengths of ivy, variegated and plain and its also a good chance to do some pruining at the same time.

    Happy New Year to you!

  8. You put my candle, holly and ivy decoration to shame… I might add cornus next year. Great idea. Hope you enjoy your Hogmanay celebrations…

Leave a Reply

