The Good, The Bad and the Beautiful – February 2012

Sorry this is a wee bit late. I’ve been doing a short story writing course lately and have had homework to do for the first time in years.

The Good

The rose pruning is finished! Hurrah! Now I can relax and allow the lacerations to heal.

Pruned climbing roses

The Bad

There was soooooo much hedge planting this month. All I seemed to do in February was plant hedges and prune roses. I like a bit of hedge-planting, don’t get me wrong, but by the end of it I was bored, bored, bored.

Oh, and we’re already officially in drought. Wonderful. I know all the sun lovers will curse me but I’d be grateful for a soggy March and April.

The Beautiful

My favourite daff (Narcissus ‘February Gold’) is just starting to come out. I waffled a bit about it last year in this post.

Narcissus 'February Gold'

 

3 responses to “The Good, The Bad and the Beautiful – February 2012

  1. How nice to have daffs blooming

  2. Glad you’re a true gardener when it comes to the weather. I get so peeved with the Beeb weather-chaps apologising when it rains as if all everyone wants is constant sun. And don’t even get me started on rose-thorn injuries! Humpf. Sorry, old man rant over with. D

    • Sorry it took me a couple of days to notice and approve your comment 🙂 I’m not sure why it decides you need approval since you’ve commented here before.

      I find it hard when everyone’s going ‘oh wot luvverly weather!’ and my urge is to grouch that ‘no it’s bloody well, not!’ mind you, it is more pleasant being outdoors in it I wll admit!

Leave a Reply

