The Good, The Bad and the Beautiful – March 2012

The Good

Last autumn I had an unfeasibly large quantity of daffodils to plant. MsV (my lovely colleague) and I spent the large part of a week planting them. They’re flowering now – hurrah!

Daffodils in field

The Bad

Comfrey.

Comfrey in flower

Comfrey’s pretty, the bees love it and it’s a useful herb and makes a high nitrogen addition to the compost heap. If you’ve never grown it, or more importantly never tried to remove it, you might reasonably ask why it’s The Bad this month. All along the back of my new border there was comfrey and thanks to the nature of comfrey, there is still comfrey. I dug it all out this week for the second time and I’m aware there will be a third, fourth and more than likely, fifth time too. It’s a bugger to get rid of and I want to get rid of it.

The Beautiful

Lathyrus vernus is one of my favourite Spring plants. Here’s a happy bumble bee who agrees:

Lathyrus vernus and bumble bee

9 responses to “The Good, The Bad and the Beautiful – March 2012

  1. I do like the way comfrey flowers change from pink to blue – but it sounds like you’re not impressed !

    • This is plain old white to pink, so not as pretty as the blue types. I do like comfrey – it just needs to grown in a specific area and kept in check, like mint.

  2. I had been thinking of planting some comfrey, but I am glad I read your post. Perhaps I will try growing it in a pot instead. It has so many great medicinal uses…

  3. I”m with The Sage Butterfly – yikes!

    Daffs are so satisfying – they make such a lovely, cheerful show, and yours are doing just that. They really are best naturalised (to me they always feel trapped in beds)…

    • In beds I like to choose more delicate varieties with leaves that will disappear into the other perennials quickly as all those dying leaves can be quite unattractive. Personally I like them in both beds and naturalised – more daffs all round!

      • That’s a good idea – those dying leaves are such a distraction, and really seem to attract the attention. Plus, the more delicate daffs get lost in naturalisation. I’ve got a couple of babies, and I think moving them out of the meadow is a good idea. Thanks!

  4. I have the same on going battle with dandelion. They are pretty in flower, but not very desirable in the garden. That tap root ensures their occurrence after getting pulled. They do have uses and I had a neighbor that raised them to eat. You can guess why my yard has so many. The drifts of daffodils you planted are very pretty. I know that was a tiring job, but worth it for sure.

    • Often the tiring jobs really are the most rewarding! Dandelions are a pain. At Kentwell Hall we had an ancient tool designed to remove them, like a giant version of the little daisy grubbers you can buy.

  5. I have the same ongoing problem with daffodils. They are pretty in flower, but not welcome in the garden beds. That tap root ensures their occurrence even after being pulled, making they difficult to eradicate. My neighbor raised them for food, so you can see why garden was loaded with them. The drifts of daffodils is very pretty, and I know how tiring a job that was, but so worth it.

Leave a Reply

