Plant of the Month – April 2012

This month’s Plant of the Month has rich wine red stems and glossy leaves, sometimes red like the stems, sometimes a glorious rich green. At this time of the year it can be the contrast leaf colour plant, the richly coloured feature plant or the back-bone of a border. So what is it?

The Rose.

Red rose stems in Spring

Just look at that colour! I’d grow them just for the way they look in Springtime – I just love the new stems with the delicate bloom on them.

Here in the rose border they are making a real impact already:

Roses sprouting in Spring

Maybe it demonstrates that we have too many roses at the tower but they really are one of the strongest features of the garden at the moment. Obviously there are lovely bulbs and spring perennials also doing their thang and flowering their metaphorical socks off but the roses are among the biggest players right now and I think they deserve more credit for having gorgeous leaves and stems (until the black spot and greenfly get to them anyway!)

Fresh rose leaves

What do you think? Are they really only good for the flowers? Maybe you even hate the flowers (wierdo)…

9 responses to “Plant of the Month – April 2012

  1. I so agree with you! Last spring I enjoyed the red stems and leaves of my Mr Lincoln rose for weeks before the flowers, and it made me think that before I buy any new roses, I’ll check what the colour of their new growth is. Not all of them colour so richly, or hold it so long. In fact, the Mr Lincoln is still producing new red shoots right now, in the middle of autumn.

    • I bet you’ll be hard pressed to find the information unless you can actually look at a specimen. Sometimes it’s hard to find out if a plant smells good, let alone something slightly obscure like this. Glad to hear Mr. Lincoln’s got nice Spring shoots – I need to replace some at some point. 🙂

  2. Funnily enough, Libby, I am a weirdo and I do like roses.

    • In my world ‘wierdo’ is generally a compliment! But then I’m a gardener who likes roleplaying, knitting and heavy metal, what can you expect really?

  3. I do like Roses but don’t grow many as we are 600ft above sea level and fairly windy so I don’t think it’s the spot for a Rose garden. I have however planted quite a few Rosa Rugosa this year…I think they are fairly hardy.

  4. easy to dimiss such sights and assign attention for roses to early summer so appreciate the nod to look at all the garden and not just the spirng bloomers
    p.s. love roses but they don’t care for shade much

  5. I do heartily agree with you and I’m going to include a link to this post on my Garden Bloggers Foliage day post on the 22nd of the month. It exemplifies exactly my ethos that most plants we put in our gardns should have a duel role and often flowers are the least important feature.

Leave a Reply

