The Good, the Bad and the Beautiful – May 2012

I’ve got t’interwebs back! Hurrah! Just in time for the end of the month and my round-up post so here goes….

The Good

Soggy bottom and the new swimming pool wall border are coming along nicely. I think the damp Spring was a really good thing for the new planting.

Flower border along wall with roses

Border planting in damp ground

I planted these last November and blogged about it in this post: New Border Joy!

Also in the good category for this month is the fact that the Saga of the Sick Yews looks like it might be over (touch wood) as the replacements are growing healthily:

Young yew plants

The Bad

Uh oh… lawn issues. Trying not to hyperventilate … oh my lovely lawn…

Brown patch in lawnI think it’s fungal which is doubly worrying as that’s a very neat line up to the Swamp Cypress base. This patch of lawn has never been great and always extra sensitive to dry weather (and it has been dry – all that rain we had seems to have just disappeared) and so this isn’t exactly a new problem, but it’s by far the worst it’s ever been. I am having trouble figuring out exactly what it is, and anti-fungal treatments for lawns don’t seem to be particularly common. Any ideas, dear readers?

The Beautiful

Flower border with irises

The tower border was popular on Garden Day last Sunday. I just wish I knew what the Iris varieties are – the labels are long gone and the plants predate me.

P.S I missed the anniversary last month but I’ve been doing these posts for over a year now! Here’s The Good, The Bad and the Beautiful – May 2011 in case you’d like a peek. Obviously I’d just discovered photo manipulation software and had yet to learn a light touch with the saturation slider bar!

10 responses to “The Good, the Bad and the Beautiful – May 2012

  1. About your lawn problem: any chance there is something under the surface, like a water main or old foundation or???? Or even a badly-mixed-in batch of sand. Maybe try a bit of sounding with a length of rebar?

    The rest of the lawn looks beautiful! How ironic….

  2. Hi Libs,
    If you can bear it, dig a trench across the dead bit, about halfway down from the tree. If that tells you nothing, then leave the trench open (or temp infill with gravel). Then re-turf or re-sow beneath your trench and watch what happens to the new grass for a week or two. If it stays healthy, repeat the process higher up. My guess though is that you will find a tree-root problem beneath the dead patch – maybe a cypress root gone rotten and spewing out toxins? Anyway, you won’t know until you dig.

    • Thanks 🙂 this is the plan for after the bank holiday. My boss noticed it looks like part of a circle and the corner of this circle appears on the neighbouring lawn so I think maybe it’s a mega-fairy ring for giant fairies of doom.

  3. Eek… I’m no help at all with your lawn problem, Libby. But Mr K sounds like he knows what he’s talking about. Glad your yews are finally thriving. D

  4. I love yew! It’s my favourite wood 🙂

  5. I can’t contribute anything to the lawn debate, but good luck with the investigations – how depressing. On the other hand, the yews are looking good (and so are the irises)…

  6. I had a bit of a chuckle at the image of the hungry Irises predating you (as in, they are predators and they predate); isn’t English a fun language? Your lawn problem is not so funny, though. It does look as if it has something to do with a tree root. I hope you can solve it.

  7. Pingback: A sprinkling of minor updates… | The Sproutling Writes

  8. Pingback: One burgeoning border and one all burgeoned out | The Sproutling Writes

Leave a Reply

