Channelling Christo – Purple and Orange!

Today I decided that I would plant up a new bed in my own garden. Never mind the weeding, that’s boring. New plants are definitely the way to go when you’re feeling a bit down about the garden. So I shuffled off to Place for Plants, my favourite local nursery, dragging a friend along for the trip. I fully planned on hot summery colours – lots of daisies; rudbeckias, heleniums, maybe some red achilleas… lovely. I definitely wasn’t going to get a rose. Definitely.

And then I walked in and immediately saw Rosa ‘Tuscany Superb’ and fell in love. Then on the next table was Geum ‘Totally Tangerine’ and I fell again. And I thought ‘they’ll never go together… will they?’ And they do. Here’s the haul:

Rosa 'Tuscany Superb' and Geum 'Totally Tangerine' with Agastache 'Tangerine Dream'

Rosa ‘Tuscany Superb’ and Geum ‘Totally Tangerine’ with Agastache ‘Tangerine Dream’  and in the background Heuchera ‘Plum Pudding’

The Agastache ‘Tangerine Dream’ ties it all together as it has both the orange and purplish colours in it. Heuchera ‘Plum Pudding’ provides some weighty foliage in that gorgeous deep plum and, not shown in the pic are Fuchsia ‘Purple Mountain’ with purplish leaves and Echinacea ‘Sundowner’ which isn’t flowering yet. The colours are just wonderful together. Well, I think so anyway and it’s my garden so nur. And I think Christopher Lloyd would approve. Definitely. So if you want to disagree with a gardening titan like him, go ahead, dislike my colours. See if I care.

Newly planted flower bed

The ‘In honour of Christopher Lloyd’ bed

Hurrah! It makes me happy. Even though the rest of the garden is a shameful mess.

9 responses to “Channelling Christo – Purple and Orange!

  1. Looks fab! I’m particularly fond of Heuchera’s. They divide easily too giving lots more lovely plants…for free!

  2. Gorgeous! 🙂 I love the colours together x

  3. Pingback: Channelling Christo – Purple and Orange! | Garden Roses | Scoop.it

  4. Looks great. Love the rose.

  5. Thanks everyone 🙂 It’s visible from the kitchen window and I keep having a look and smiling.

  6. Pingback: A sprinkling of minor updates… | The Sproutling Writes

  7. wifemothergardener

    I love this combo! I pinned it to remember it later. Adding either yellow blooms or white variegation (a miscanthus?) would firmly put it into CL’s territory for sure.

  8. Pingback: Banishing my back garden blues | The Sproutling Writes

Leave a Reply

