One burgeoning border and one all burgeoned out

This last couple of days I’ve mostly been weeding the new-ish borders I planted  last year, AKA Soggy Bottom and (less amusingly named) the swimming pool wall border. Soggy Bottom in particular was pretty dire as at various points this year it has just been too wet to weed it. It’s doing quite well despite the competition from innumerable docks (now languishing on the fire heap):

Soggy bottom border

Soggy Bottom is flourishing!

I should be capable of coming up with some crude innuendo right about here to do with Soggy Bottoms, and the words ‘growing well’, ‘verdant’ and ‘lush’. But, well, maybe I’d better not. The Primula florindae sent to me by Kininvie are doing really well still, although the Rheum ‘Ace of Hearts’ and the kingcups are looking less enthusiastic.

The swimming pool wall border did really well this Spring/early Summer  but is now looking a bit tired. It needs a bit of a reshuffle this autumn methinks and some later flowering plants. I did forget to cut the Achillea back and if I had, that would probably be giving a second flush about now.

Border in September

Should still be looking vibrant…

I’m not particularly worried because this sort of editing is part of the process. The Echinacea didn’t do as well as I’d hoped and the Fragaria are threatening to take over the world, the Clary Sage was even bigger than my memory suggested and the Stipa got rather swamped. A bit of a shuffle and it’ll keep being great for longer next year.

Still looking nice in this border are:

Erigeron 'Profusion'

Erigeron ‘Profusion’

and

Cosmos 'Sweet 16'

Cosmos ‘Sweet 16’

Both grown from seed by my own fair hand. I can tell these two are going to become staples – I just love the Erigon particularly.

 

4 responses to “One burgeoning border and one all burgeoned out

  1. Hiya Libs,
    Personally, despite what they say, I don’t think that rheum ‘Ace of Hearts’ is really qualified for soggy ground, any more than domestic rhubarb. Roots damp, sure, but crown well away from the wet, and lots of manure seems to suit mine best. I’ll send you some p.’Inverewe’ in spring – if the florindae survived, Inverewe is worth trying.
    K

    • Oh wow thanks! You’re a star 🙂

      I’ll give the Rheum a mulch and see if that cheers it up. It’s looking better now than it did a month ago, which given it’s now drier might be something of a hint, maybe this is just the wrong spot for it. Though this year has been exceptionally damp, so we’ll see.

  2. Erigeron is a much underused plant. It flowers for me almost all year, so dainty but also a great weed suppressant. Finding the right conditions for each plant is the real trick art of gardening. Christina

Leave a Reply

