The Good, The Bad and the Beautiful – October 2012

The Good

Well, what do we have here?

Digging a new border

Jumper! Flask! Fun new project!

I have a new project. As you can see it’s not a very big one but it is lots of fun. I’m making a bed of tudor plants for the edjamacating of the youngins. We’re digging it at the moment and then are going to pile on heaps and heaps of composted muck and sharp sand. Then I’ll wait for the worms, wind and frost to do the hard work and on a sunny day in early Spring I’ll plant it up with lots of plants that were grown by our Tudor forebears. And of course I’ll waffle here about the plants I’m using when I do that.

The Bad

I really dislike scarifying. It’s bloody hard work. And the lawn looks awful immediately afterwards. And for the last fortnight it’s been too damp to get on with it so it’s hard work that has been mostly looming in a ‘must get done but can’t get done’ kind of a way. Bah!

The Beautiful

Fuchsia magellanica flowers

Fuchsia magellanica

Fuchsia magellanica

Fuchsia magellanica

I need to plant some of these lovelies where they’ll be more visible as these are tucked round the back by the tennis court.

Leave a Reply

