Autumn’s nearly over…

Most of the broadleaf trees round us, barring the oaks, are just clinging on to the last few leaves. I did (what I assume will be) the last raking of the car park today. The ginkgo has dropped its leaves rapidly since my plant of the month post.

Last of the Gingko leaves

Last of the Ginkgo leaves

Bye-bye pretty leaves.

The Swamp Cypress (Taxodium distichum), as always, is later than the broadleaf trees and I have found myself raking up just before the staff Christmas dinner in previous years. Considering tonight’s forecast was for wind I didn’t bother raking up today and will do it tomorrow. The needles are a lovely russet colour, similar to the brickwork of the tower:

Swamp Cypress (Taxodium distichum) in autumn colour

Swamp Cypress in autumnal glory

I feel very much like Winter is really just round the corner now. Question is… is it carrying an ice pick? What will it do with it? Have I been reading too many murder mysteries? Who knows?

And just for a change, a sprinkling of unexpected blossom:

Autumn cherry blossom

Prunus x subhirtella ‘Autumnalis’? Maybe?

This Prunus flowers from about now with a sprinkling of blossom throughout the cold months, it’s never very generous but always pretty. I wish I knew for certain what it is but suspect ‘Autumnalis’. It has beautiful autumn leaves too – flaming yellows and reds.

Onwards! Into winter…

 

2 responses to “Autumn’s nearly over…

  1. Onwards! Into winter? You sure? Oh, OK then. You lead, I’ll be right behind you. D

Leave a Reply

