Plant of the Month – March 2013

I’ve been trying to convince myself and my colleagues that it’s Spring. ‘Look’ I say, hopefully as the wind bites my face, ‘I can prove it because we’ve got these little friends.’ and I point to the Primroses.

Primula vulgaris

Primula vulgaris AKA Primrose

They brighten dingy corners and once they are done the leaves sit there being fairly unobtrusive. They cope with most soil as long as it’s not dry, and like sun or partial shade. I often dig up a few clumps and spread them about the place as I do with snowdrops.

When I was a child I used to pick their flowers and put them in tiny little vases. As an adult I still do this and they look particularly lovely with heartsease or other small violas.

Primula vulgaris 2

It’s quite common to see the pink variety available (Primula vulgaris ‘Rosea’) and we have white ones in various spots in the garden but really, I love the gentle yellow ones best of all.

9 responses to “Plant of the Month – March 2013

  1. Primroses are flowering here in Ireland too but it does’nt feel very Springlike.
    Bridget

  2. I don’t have any primroses, but I’m thinking I need some.

  3. Some of my favourites………. x

  4. Never seen a bad photo of a primose, they are so photogenic. Your photos capture their purity.

  5. My primroses have been doing great in a tub container since February. We have had freezes, though mild ones, and they are still going strong.

  6. Your Primroses are gorgeous. They are so welcome when they arrive early in spring.

Leave a Reply

