The Good, the Bad and the Beautiful – June 2013

The Good

The huge Rosa banksiae we have growing across one entire side of East Court flowers in May/June on the previous years’ wood, unlike most other roses. I have previously semi-managed it by removal of a few trespassing bits in the winter but it had got rather out of hand and was making its way into the roof and therefore had to be dealt with. So I was busy hacking away and pretending to be a supervillain going up and down in my cherry picker (why yes I have an active imagination, why do you ask?) and then…

Woe is me! I dislodged a nest of miniscule baby birds. Woe! Woe!

So I tucked the nest back in a sheltered spot as close as possible to where I found it, crossed my fingers and felt very, very guilty.  But hurrah! They’re ok:

Nest of baby goldfinches.

Live baby goldfinches. Phew!

The Bad

Mullein moth. I say no more:

Mullein moth damage

Ugh

It looks like they’ll flower ok, fortunately.

The Beautiful

I change my favourite rose almost as often as I change my underwear at this time of year but this has a permanent place in the Top 5:

Rosa 'Constance Spry

Rosa ‘Constance Spry

5 responses to “The Good, the Bad and the Beautiful – June 2013

  1. Fantastic about the goldfinches, one of my favorite birds. But wait, you have a cherry picker? (We’ll deal with the supervillain later.)

    • Yes it spends most of its time tucked away in the lean-to. It’s a pain in the wotname to get out and move but once it’s in place it’s really useful (and kinda fun!)

  2. Your Rosa ‘Constance Spry is gorgeous! But, I want to borrow your cherry picker for say five days and get a lot of stuff on my to-do-list checked off. 🙂

    • I don’t like to boast but I also have a neat little wheeled scaffold, about 6 ft tall which is even more useful than the cherry picker. 😛

  3. Love that rose. Is it scented? I’m taking cuttings of lots of scented Roses this year.

Leave a Reply

